Agnostic.com

43 4

Hello, First I need to let folks know that I am a seminary student at a post-modern spiritual/Christian ministry school. We believe that agnostics and atheists have a higher potential to reach the consciousness level that Jesus taught than most Traditional Christians do. One of our text books is "How to Pray Without Talking to God. I'm just here to learn (not proselytize).

Seminarian 7 Dec 23

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

43 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Welcome! It will be interesting to see what you post as there are many interpretations of Jesus' message. But, be aware that a lot of us atheists (perhaps the vast majority) don't feel any need pray--and do not feel a need to search for anything (meaning/purpose) beyond the physical and that which we make for ourselves--as individuals and as members of the human race. I, for one, find fulfillment in appreciating nature and learning what science has to teach. This is not to say that the Bible has no words of wisdom (some attributed to Jesus); but so do many other writings.

Joanne Level 7 Dec 23, 2017

I can't disagree with anything you said. I think the idea that we create our own higher purpose is completely logical. As far as praying, I think its purpose(if done affirmatively) is to help us change our thinking and does not require a belief in a deity. I do think that evolution has created ideas in our minds that may no longer serve us, and that prayer and meditation can show us a more logical way of looking at things, I also believe that what science teaches "natural law" is"divine law" It's just that they didn't understand science in the biblical times.

Interesting, by rejecting a premise, ‘we’ have a greater ability to appreciate it?