Agnostic.com

9 4

Has someone else’s strong religious belief ever had a major effect on your life?

I used to be a registered nurse. I had a very young patient of whom I was quite fond. She needed a blood transfusion to save her life, but she was a Jehovah’s Witness, and those are forbidden in her religion. She passed away under my care.

I am no longer a nurse.

IndySent 7 Dec 26

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

9 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Damn right is has. Just look at our judicial system and government posts that are filled with people who swear on the bible and have been sworn to uphold the laws of their holy book before the laws of the land. These are the ones who want to turn our democracy into a theocracy - a christian one, to force all others out and fuel our unrelenting wars based on religious belief - "this land is mine because god said so"

Absolutely! I live in a small town and once it was know I was an atheist, then I ended up with only a few friends and had some depression and anxiety issues for quite a few years.

Thank you dear. I appreciate the reply. I have gotten over since and people have started to warm up to me because they have seen that I am a caring and helpful human being.
I loved Europe when I visited. So many pleasant people who don't care about individual views as much as people do here. It has been my favorite trip I have taken so far.
Where would you be moving to when you get back to the states?

The friends you do make, will be authentic and stick around. I rather have one single good friend than 50 phonies.