Agnostic.com

7 2

Grief and depression

Dealing with the suicide of my granddaughter Ashlie has an added demon...depression. How have you fought off the loss of productivity, paralyzing anxiety and general sadness?
As an artist, my ideas still materialize but my energy level is severely cut. It seems to come in cycles or maybe reacts to some kind of trigger. Teaching art in the school system keeps me on task but once I'm home...blam!

Shazbott68 5 June 17

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

7 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I'm so sorry for your loss. Be kind to yourself. You are going through a difficult time.

I am very sorry for the loss. A grandparent should never suffer that loss of a grandchild.

It has/is difficult. Thank you for your consideration

I'm sorry for your loss. Therapy is usually good as it just helps to be able to talk to someone and they point out things that help you to cope and deal with it all. Professionals are the best. Arm chair advisors don't alway work so well.

I agree about professional help. I have had help in the past which gave me many tools to use.

My depression came on when my father passed & we had to go through his things. I'm the youngest of 5 & was "daddy's girl". It put me in bed with the covers over my head. If it wasn't for my kids, I'm not sure I would have made it to my doctor's office to sit on the examine table & sob out that I had no clue what was wrong with me.

Meds & therapy helped, a lot but it took a long time. 14 years later, there are times where grief just sneaks up & grabs me out the blue. I'm not going to say it gets better but you learn how to live with it.