Agnostic.com

5 7

Lapidary thread!

Though I've been collecting rocks for a couple decades, I've only been cutting them for about the last 3 years or so. Photos of some of my work are attached.

Anyone else cut stones? How long? Do you have a specialty?
What are your most and least favorite to work with?

Anyone that doesn't cut stones have questions?

d_day 7 Jan 6

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

5 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Nice work!! I haven't cut any yet but I have all of my grandpa's equipment, he was a lapidary. I did silver work but right now i buy my cabochons.

Buying your cabs is probably the best way to go, unless you're working with really high dollar material. The labor time it takes to make a nice cab is usually far outweighed by what you can sell them for.

@d_day yes unfortunately I am sure that is true, I mostly want to do it because my grandad did....I have some of his rough, including a stunning piece of peanut wood that I would love to make jewelry with.

@amateurstargazer Peanut wood is neat stuff. I've not worked with any but I've seen some beautiful pieces made from it. The Quartzsite show is going on right now, so I may pop over and pick some up if the Aussies have any this year.

@d_day I'm so jealous!!!!! I would love to go to that show!!!

Beautiful work. They are all gorgeous. Is the first one malachite? I don't really know anything about what you do but, I'm familiar with malachite. I've wanted a rock tumbler since I was a kid and this post has just renewed that desire for me.

Duke Level 8 Jan 7, 2018

Yes, the first one is malachite. I have a love/hate relationship with it. It's beautiful, and is fairly easy to work, but it is very dirty.