Agnostic.com

5 3

QUESTION Home | The Critical Thinker Academy

"Schools like to say that they teach critical thinking skills, but it's hard to take that seriously when the vast majority of students can graduate from high school and college and never be exposed to a course on logic and argument analysis, never be exposed to any serious discussion of what it means to have good reasons to believe something, and never be exposed to what scientists and philosophers have learned over 2500 years about how to reason well."

NerdyOkieDude 7 Jan 8

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

5 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I totally agree.As a teacher I attempt to infuse what you have mentioned into the curriculum. Education is to much about memorizing facts and figures instead of ideas and philosophies

Education has been dumbed down in the last 50 to 100 years. Too much standardized testing, too little money for school not in the burbs. Too much homework, too much desk work, not enough PE or recess, and not enough real learning.

I agree. If I read books from the late 18th century I have a hard time matching their vocabulary. The people that were educated processed a much higher standard of education than I received.

There is much to be said for teaching how to think and not what to think.

Ponder this: There are times when reinventing the wheel is a better choice than proceeding with the pattern on the shelf.