Agnostic.com

10 3

Someone made a comment about the flu shot. I would say be aware of the actual ingredients. I would say be aware of what's going to be put in your veins. I'm not a doctor or a scientist I just have common sense.

Wildgreens 8 Jan 8

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

10 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

You do need to ask questions to make an educated determination. You also need to know if you could have a specific reaction to anything in any shot one is given. Having said that, then you also need to do some research that isn't gleaned from social media (or friends for that matter) Social media and friends are well meaning most of the time but, they're usually pretty ill informed. The biggest concern that most people have with vaccinations is the mercury in Thimerosal. There are different types of mercury. The type you ingest while eating fish will stay in your body and can make you sick. The type in a vaccine will pass through your system rapidly and will not linger around and rarely has any ill effects. Children's vaccinations now contain no mercury with the exception of the flu shot. And you can ask for a shot that does not contain it.

I've been taking the flu shot all of my life (I'm 57) and I can honestly say that it has on some occasions made me feel bad for a few days afterwards. However I can't determine in those cases if I had already been exposed to the flu and the shot just didn't stave it off since the virus was already active within me.