Agnostic.com

39 6

Does anyone recycle?

I've been recycling for 1-2 months now. My local recycling center takes plastics #1 and #2, cardboard, paper, and tin/aluminum cans, but it doesn't take glass. Well today I found a center in a town I work in that does, so I'm happy I don't have to throw all my glass bottles/containers in the trash.

Now I need to find out what to do with plastics #4, #5, and cereal bags.

Does anyone else recycle? Are there recyclables that your center doesn't take? What do you do with those? Any funny stories about recycling?

joeymf86 8 July 27

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

39 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I'm a "militant" recycler and get upset when I see stuff that should be in a recycling bin but isn't. I even built my own compost tumbler and rain collection system for my backyard. Don't forget that reducing and reusing are even better than recycling.

Here in the UK, most (if not all) local authorities provide two household waste bins; one for ordinary household waste and one for recyleables. My local authority also collects glass once a month. Additionally, I pay a small monthly fee for a bin for garden waste, which the council collects fortnightly and turns into compost.

My supermarket delivery also takes back their plastic shopping bags and recycles them.