Agnostic.com

28 1

Any tips regarding self-employment?

I'm single, 44 years old, based in California (SF Bay Area), and am considering being 100% self-employed. Aside from the fact that this is uncharted territory for me, I'm also relatively new to this country (I'm a permanent legal resident who migrated from the Philippines in Sept 2014).

If you are self-employed or know someone who is, I'd appreciate any knowledge you'd be willing to share.

Thanks in advance.

misternatureboy 7 Sep 5

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

28 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Bust your ass! Hard work pays off.

Get the Mileage IQ app for your phone to track your business miles you drive.

I've been self employed for 30 years. I don't make much money but the stress is so much less that working for other people & dealing with co-workers. What I lack is organization & assertiveness, or I would probably make more money. Good luck--I think you will like it!

Carin Level 8 Sep 6, 2018

I have been self-employed for most of my life I would suggest opening a business in the services industry because those have a tendency to be the most stable I myself do Landscape Maintenance and I make an incredible living I make two to three times the amount of people who are employees to someone else I set my own schedules I do what I want when I want and how I want but with that said you're going to have to be very motivated you're going to have to be very good with your social people skills and you're going to have to be reliable no one else is going to be telling you you need to get up and go to work it's all going to be on you you're also going to have to look in to getting medical insurance because unlike working for someone else it is not supplied