Agnostic.com

21 2

Assuming you are out of school, does continuing to learn matter to you? If so, what do you do to make sure it happens?

chicagojcb 7 Jan 27

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

21 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

"Education isn't something you can finish." Isaac Asimov

I didn't go to college until I was in my 40s but even today, if something interests me or makes me curious, I will research it until satisfied.

I will always be learning, but not in organized classes anymore. I seek information through all available sources.

...continue to learn after skool....hmmmmm.... I didn't start to learn until I was out of skool.

Yes, I step outside my room. There is a whole world to explore on a daily basis. Earth is a Large Lab.

Yes. I’m a teacher.

I am fully committed to lifelong learning. I will never know it all. Things change, things get forgotten, learning takes care of both. The first step in becoming a lifelong learner is learning how to learn. Developing a sense of curiosity about the world also helps. Don't just accept that something exists. Examine it, question why, how and what causes it to be so. What are the relationships between things. Experience is a great teacher. Adults learn best through experience. Try it, be it. Become one with it. If you really want to live, then become a student of life.

Bingo! And funnily enough, life becomes much more interesting and exciting. It's a bonus.

Read...and then read some more! Then I got to a point, that I didn't devour books and articles, anymore. But, I believe all that reading helped me in ways that I can't describe. I read a book now and again, but not like the past. Also, in my case, I only read non-fiction.