Agnostic.com

12 2

SURGERY
Getting right knee replaced 22 Feb. I know it's become rather routine but still anxious (If you're not freaked out too easily check out the videos of this surgery online.) Am looking for your stories, support, empathy, sympathy, commiseration etc. about anything related. 😟

kmdskit3 8 Feb 5

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

12 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I'm an old retired orthopedic nurse. Worked on a orthopedic floor for 21 years, and did sub acute rehab too. A lot of it depends on you. Keep your weight down (helps a lot with movement and healing) Eat healthy, no garbage fast foods, no smoking. Have to trust the ortho doc. After surgery as the staff helps you up and moving...the more you move the better. Pain pills are needed but remember constipating too. Drink a lot of fluids. If they ask you to go to Rehab...do it!!

I work in short term disability claims, I hear your story every day!! So good luck to you, do the PT! One of my coworkers has had her knees replaced and she schooled me in it good when she was training me. My knees aren't great, but they're gonna do for a while. And watch the drugs. Many people get hooked on opioids from surgeries like this. And the opioids cause constipation... Hope you recover quickly.

Thanks!

Hi Kindskit, Over the last 84 years I have had 3 whole knee replacements, [ no, I do not have 3 legs ! ] All have been a great success. There is nothing to fear as you will not be awake to know what is going on. The most uncomfortable problem , is the Phsyo. you have to get things back to normal and that is quite hard work but after a few months all will be forgotten, and you will be a new man. [ I won't say good luck as I am sure you won't need it ]

Thanks!