Agnostic.com

12 3

Does Everything Come at a Price?

I have been using that statement as an adage for a few months now. I want to check its validity. Does everything really come at a price?

wanderartist 4 Feb 9

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

12 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Pretty much

You spend ATP (cell energy) every time you decide to move, or not, everything is give and take until the whole universe is a mass of chaos. 0 to 100

Every decision is an opportunity/cost or benefit/cost matter. There are always costs, no matter how minimal. The question is: Do the benefits outweigh the costs.

Grass burs don’t.

You pay with money or you pay with time when doing anything....plus some things involve emotion.

Action is accompanied by reaction. Whether a price or a boon is yours to decide.

In my Buddhist wanderings they spoke of "Cause and Effect." Whatever action is a cause that created a result.

Opportunity cost: each opportunity chosen is a different opportunity lost.

@Stevil Funny you should bring that up... Frost is one of my immortal heros and I actually thought about including such a quote--but I recently heard a critical analysis of that poem that turns the traditional interpretation on its head: