Agnostic.com

15 7

What's your go-to soul soother after a particularly harrowing day?

Mine was a particularly harrowing day. I'm a nurse in a urologic cancer clinic, and my every work day is a fast moving emotional rollercoaster. I'm not complaining, I love my job. I choose this. But as I was wrapping up the day feeling especially depleted, I took a look back at the 23 patients we worked with throughout the day. This is what I found. We shared one of the worst days in 3 peoples lives who received a new diagnosis of cancer. We gave the good news of negative work ups to 4 people. We arranged biopsies for 6 people who are waiting to find out if they have cancer. We placed one of my favorite patients on hospice. We high-fived and praised god with 5 patients after procedures demonstrating continued remission. We scheduled 4 patients for surgeries to treat cancers that have come back. I bounce between being the navigator, the cheerleader, the shoulder, the educator. Compartmentalize. Shift. Repeat. So after a day full of highs, lows, and a few holy fucks, my go to soul soother is the music of Nina Simone. A couple of hours with her greatest hits is a rollercoaster of angst, snarky bitterness, expressive of raw emotion... powerful enough to shake loose the knots in my mind and let my emotions take the leap from my rollercoaster to hers, throwing up that great wall of detachment between them.
One hour in, and I'm feeling good...

Amzungu 8 Dec 7

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

15 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.