Agnostic.com

23 3

How do I get out of jury duty?

I am a teacher; I am currently hosting a student teacher; I am the sole caretaker of two elderly parents; my jury summons says I will be needed for two weeks in March; I don't see that happening.

greyeyed123 7 Feb 9

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

23 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Call in and explain your situation. I had just come home from the hospital with a newborn after a C-section that I was nursing, and I was handed a summons for jury duty. I told the deputy what the situation was and he followed up on it and I was excused. Or if you have to go in for a day make sure you express opinions that would not be acceptable in the case, as in adamant against the death penalty, or what ever, or that you have knowledge of or know the individuals in the case. I knew a lady who was called for jury duty. She had shared a cabin with the defendant at summer camp 20 years before. She was excused.

The summons says no phone calls accepted. They give me three lines to write any excuses. I'm wondering if requesting spring break week would work...or even time in July during summer break.

@greyeyed123 Write small and legibly and explain the situation. My jury summons was in Virginia, every state is different. I've been summoned once in Nebraska, but then was excused before having to go in, they didn't need a jury that week.

@greyeyed123 I was able to get my jury duty rescheduled to another time. Then I went.

@greyeyed123 In California, they will definitely give teachers an extensions until summer.

Just state some extreme opinions on whatever they are asking about. Go extreme right wing and you’ll most likely get excused.

I doubt I could actually do that. And if I tried, I doubt it would be believable.