Agnostic.com

17 3

Have you ever been excited about learning something new & you get all the stuff only to have your enthusiasm disappear?

For me it was the ukelele, it's still sitting on the shelf a year later! Didn't even learn the song, 'Froggie Went A Courting'.

atheist 8 Feb 26

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

17 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

As a musician I commend your decision to putit on the shelf. My favorite sound is an accordion being thrown in a dumpster landing on a banjo and a ukulele.

@atheist To my ears it is a symphony.

@atheist I hear fine. It's a beautiful sound because I know I will never have to listen to those three particular instruments ever again.

I am in no way trying to inspire you to learn this instrument

I'm trying to learn Spanish via an app.. I'm bored of it, it's been a week or so

I love to learn. I'm even learning a new position at work. Can't say I've ever gone to the expense to get something then given it up. But, I've spent most of my life financially struggling so, anything that costs money is highly treasured.

Yeah because you're doing it backwards. Don't get all the stuff. You're getting ahead of yourself which triggers kind of an internal reward mechanism that makes you feel like you've already accomplished the goal.

What I do is instead of new years resolutions I pick a skill that I try to master. And I stick with it and obsess over it for a year, or more until I think I'm proficient enough to get results with it. The ability to get those results consistently is the reward I'm looking for. So I try not to talk about the new skill I'm working on much either since that also can have a similar effect as making you feel like you've already mastered it.