Agnostic.com

7 4

To the visual artists: what's your favorite medium in which to create?

I've always enjoyed drawing/sketching, but I haven't created much art in recent years. I think my favorite medium to work in is charcoal, followed by graphite. I like the high contrast I can get with charcoal, even though it can also smear pretty easily. What is your favorite medium with which to create your art?

resserts 8 Apr 29

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

7 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

My starting off point was with oils, then I graduated to fabrics. Fabric manipulation, dying using natural products, burning, shredding, thread art, wool felting. I use metals, wood, stone and other mediums to help me understand what I’m trying to express. Lol, Actually it’s the mediums that are manipulating me.

I like to work with acrylics, Micron pens, and colored pencils. I also like doing collages with a variety of materials, and working with fabric and beads.

acrylic, aggregates, found objects on canvas or wood...

I prefer watercolors. I use them to paint fabric and then use the piece to further embellish with stitching or drawing...I have tried water color pencils but find them to be unpredictable when you use water...they are good for certain effects, but just not a favorite...

Would love to see some of your work!

Acrylics, pastels, and I am trying to get into small watercolors as I have a very limited work space.