Agnostic.com

40 7

Advertising atheism.

Do you advertise your lack of belief? If so, how? If not, why not?

janniegirl 6 Aug 5

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

40 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I do. It's how I make my living, creating and performing non-religious weddings and funerals for atheists, agnostics, free-thinkers and other nones.

I make it clear in my marketing information that I do not include religious references, and it's in my booking agreement that it will not be a worship service, but instead a service focusing on human values.

If I didn't come right out and say that I'm atheist, I wouldn't get the type of clients I seek and who are seeking me. 😉

This question is only pertinent in lands where religion dominates politics and government.
In Europe atheism is taken for granted as being a major option.

I feel no compulsion to hide my views when it comes up in conversation, but by the same token no motivation to bring it up unprompted. There's enough division among people already without fomenting it needlessly.

Went grocery shopping today wearing my agnostic.com t-shirt... And a pair of Sigil of Lucifer earrings, but I'm almost certain no one knew what they were.

No..it’s nobody’s business. I dislike it when others advertise their beliefs, so why would I do to them what I hate, by advertising my disbelief. If it comes up in the course of conversation though, I am pretty straightforward in saying I am an atheist.