Agnostic.com

30 11

What does it take to quiet your mind?

Is it easy for you to just sit quietly?

I've often thought I was pretty good at slowing down, but this week has been beautifully peaceful, and I'm realizing the difference. My real life is rather noisy in comparison to a week near an ocean. The first day I sat for three hours, waiting for the sunset, watching surfers, on a mostly empty beach. I can't remember the last time my mind was so quiet. 🙂 That has set the amazing tone for my week, I hope it comes home with me.

Stacey48 8 Apr 5

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

30 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I'm a writer, my mind doesn't go quiet until a "The End."

Gohan Level 7 Apr 5, 2018

Bob Ross

Hiking in the woods alone. That is the ideal thing to calm my mind.

My peeps in the old country send me videos of the edge of the ocean with the tide coming in or going out.just about every week. I watch it over and over until my breathing stills and my heart stops racing.

@Stacey48 Yes, I just wish I could smell the sea air.

Well, the short answer is “alcohol.”
The longer answer is, “Vodka, Tequila, Rum, Gin,” and a splash of soda.

Camomile and honey tea, a fun movie and the company of my family (including my two dogs)

Works every time

sleep

Camping out in the woods. A rainy day in the summer time. Pretty much anything that has to do with nature on some level.

A week by the beach sounds like just what the doctor ordered!

Which ocean/beach are you visiting? I'll be right over! =]

@Stacey48 Ah, awesome. Love SD. Are you continuing on north?

@Stacey48 Aw, c'mon. There's nothing like a leisurely drive through the Grapevine to sustain that beach frame of mind. LOL!