Agnostic.com

24 20

Hello, I'm new in this platform although I am an Atheist from quite long time before that I am a true believer as I came from a Hindu Brahmin Family but my grandfather never told me to believe everything just because everyone else does. When I was a Believer I found that religion is just a business which is always in profit. What's your thoughts about it? #religion

avikaush 3 June 28

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

24 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Yes, religion is a scam based on mythology. It scares people with myths, and comforts those who contribute money. 🙄

I’m impressed with your Grandfather, he obviously had more faith in you than he did a myth. I hope one day to be like him..

I view religion as a tool, both for social and political control & power. With all the science and information available to modern humans, there is no longer an excuse for them to honestly ‘believe’ such myths ...beyond someone having lied to them at an early age.

Having raised two children, I never lied to them. It’s worked well; more clever and tolerant versions of myself, they’re navigating life with quite an advantage. Yes, Grandfatherly wisdom.. I’m looking forward to it ~

Varn Level 8 June 28, 2020

well said

It is Christians who want you to believe certain things, claiming that if you believe you’ll go to heaven. Woe unto the unfortunate person who can’t talk himself into belief. His soul will burn forever in hell!

In my encounters with Hindu teachers I have never been told to believe anything. I was only told to contemplate and meditate and that deep understanding (belief?) would arise spontaneously.