Agnostic.com

13 28

Doctors have another enemy to fight besides COVID-19: Misinformation.

By Asha Shajahan, M.D.

"“Misinformation is causing panic, anger, polarization between political parties, sickness and even death. It’s time to assign it a diagnostic code.”

"As a primary care physician, I do myth-busting during nearly 90% percent of my video visits; about 80% of my patients’ have scheduled appointments just for information on COVID-19. Rather than diagnosing and treating, my work has evolved into directing patients to credible resources like the CDC and the World Health Organization’s mythbuster page.

"Still, patients wanted to get the facts from me, a physician on the front lines. They asked questions like, “Doctor, I read that vitamin D, zinc and vitamin C will kill the virus. I’ve been taking double the recommended dose. Do I still need to wear a mask?”

"I guide patients to look at an article’s date, the author’s background and show them how to search to see if a conclusion appears consistently in various reliable sources. Essentially, I try to teach them how to sort through misinformation, a skill that now has a direct impact on their health outcomes."

Immediate consequences

"Medical misinformation is nothing new — it has been a constant problem adversely affecting people’s health. However, COVID-19 medical misinformation is even more dangerous because of its immediate consequences, such as causing people to ignore social distancing and wearing face masks, thus putting others at risk.

"Misinformation also is causing panic, anger, polarization between political parties, sickness and even death."

Novel virus