Agnostic.com

9 5

Was human consciousness a mistake? If so, would an eternity of nothingness afterlife be the true heaven? To me, an eternal sleep is the greatest hope I have of the afterlife.

HareDarwin 4 July 22

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

9 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

To me, an eternal sleep is the greatest hope I have of the afterlife.

This is called death...

A happy fortuitous event for me.
I'm happy to be alive and it'll be a sad day (for me) when it ends.
But as an agnostic I have hope there's more beyond the veil. No certainty of an afterlife. I have no knowledge of that. Yet no certainty there is no afterlife, either. I'll just have to wait and see (or not see, as the case may be).

An eternal sleep? Isn't that like the American dream? Kind of like Matrix but probably with a credit card reader for payment otherwise down you go kicking and screaming into the recycling....

When the small worm like creature first acquired a light sensitive patch, attached to a nerve ganglion, and the twitch that resulted saved its life, by taking it out of the burning sun and back into the shade, was that a mistake.

While those RC nuns droned on and on about their heaven, I imagined myself watching what a future homo semi-sapiens is doing.

I think it kinda was a mistake in the sense that it caused a problem. But the problem it caused was mostly a psychological one, and psychological problems can be solved without having to resort to death.

skado Level 9 July 22, 2020

No. No. And No..

barjoe Level 9 July 22, 2020

I was kinda thinking of eating cheesecake in "heavan" That's heaven for heathens.

Cheesecake topped with strawberry cheesecake ice cream. Mm-mm good!