Agnostic.com

8 4

The Pressure Cooker that is Agnostic.com

A long, long time ago, I can still remember... Okay, you’re gonna have to forgive and get through my writing style if it irks you. You might want to read my profile page… ladies… to get a sense of who I am, how I write, what I write about, etc.

Alrighty, so a while back, a year and some change, I wrote a fun little post about the magic of quantum mechanics. I am not an expert, nor did I pretend to be. I was, like most people, enthralled by the basically misinformed notion that there is a mysticism to quantum theory. I later found out there wasn’t, thanks to my boy Deepak Chopra and his outlandish comments on the “Quantum Field.” My girlfriend made me read his bullshit and it, uh, activated my absolute zero skepticism mode. Basically, when I talked about it, the thing made sense, but when it came out of someone else’s mouth I was like, “Fuckyou, what do you know?” And so I was more apt to question it. We all think our baby is beautiful.

So, I posted this thing about finding hairs in my soup and being the only one at the dinner table time and time again. Therefore, it felt like I was activating quantum entanglement with my brain. It’s not like I would bet my money on that horse, but I was hoping for a more… playful response from the community. What ended up happening was that people reminded me that I was an idiot. I was kind of mad at first, not because I wanted to be right or have everyone agree with me, but because, I don’t know, I guess people would figure out that I knew nothing and play along with their own spooky stories or sci-fi concepts. Response after response was, “Nope, you don’t get it.” After the fifth one, y’all didn’t need to keep going.