Agnostic.com

44 9

What was your “ah ha” moment when you realized religion was bs?

This question is mostly for people that have left religion but I love hearing the stories of when people have those moments and everything finally clicks. So leave your leaving religion stories in the comments.

StephanieM 4 Apr 10

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

44 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I was teaching a Bible Study at my church. I wanted to do a thorough job so I studied each lesson ahead of time. I started to see problems with the Bible. I tried to explain them away at first but eventually the only logical answer was that the Bible is not the word of God and that it is the greatest fraud perpetrated on humanity.

I never had an AH HAH moment. It just evolved over time. I had a priest tell me why prayers aren't answered. He said God says, "NO!". Well that didn't make sense. A million people pray for peace and God says "Nope!". This is a all knowing and loving God. If this God creature or entity controls ALL then why would this God be so mean and allow all the war, killing, death and pestilence to exsist? So it becomes obvious that there is no one or thing listening. We are here for some unknown reason and we suffer and enjoy what ever this is until such time as we fall over dead. There for sure is no God as portrayed in the Bible or Koran or any other book. There may be some source something but we have nary a clue and never will.

Iggie Level 3 Apr 10, 2018

While in high school, in church we were reading the old testament, while at the saem time in school we were looking at Greek mythology. I always had doubts, and so it wasnt' so much of an Ah Ha, moement as ti was a tipping poi9nt where the house of cards just collapsed.

I've knew all my life.