Agnostic.com

23 2

How did you start your career?

I graduated from college several months ago, but I have yet to get a position to truly start my career.

I know I need more experience, but I need to find a place to get it.

What did you do to get started and/or how and where did you start your career?

Millzy 5 Apr 14

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

23 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I guess it was a combination of accident and dumb luck. Or simple bullheadedness!

When people ask me how my academic career has helped in launching my vocational career, I often say, "I learned a LOT in college, but I don't use any of it." While that is not entirely true, it is largely true.

At the time, I was a high school dropout. I assumed my career would be following in my father's footsteps and that I would eventually inherit the helm of his independent tire dealership. I further assumed I would learn everything I needed to know in due time. Besides, I still had dreams of being a rock star. School bored me because it didn't challenge me. So I quit.

I spent some time in technical school after getting my G.E.D. (earning it one week after my high school classmates graduated.) I also spent a year working in the Chequamegon National Forest as a laborer for the U.S. Forest Service. The tire store was not doing very well, and my father fell ill. I ran the tire shop for a few months, but ultimately it went under before my father recovered from his illness (which was never successfully diagnosed, despite all the tests.)

So I flailed, directionless. I knew I had to do something, but WHAT?? I had two children by that time and had to figure out a way to support them.