Agnostic.com

5 4

LINK Making pain a vital sign caused the opioid crisis. Here's how.

I love Kevin MD, he shoots straight.

I remember the first time I experienced the paradigm shift when it came to pain management. Sometime around the late nineties while I was on call, I received a phone call from a floor nurse stating that a patient that had their ankle operated on that day by another surgeon was having increased pain that was not controlled by the pain medication that had been ordered. As I had been doing for many years, I inquired as to what procedure was done, what pain meds were ordered, any allergies, any associated symptoms such as numbness or tingling and, most important, whether the patient had a splint on with tight bandages.

More often than not in the past, this simple inquiry revealed that there was an identifiable, correctable reason for the patient’s pain and the proper course of action would be to correct the problem — in this case to loosen the tight bandages. Just changing the pain medication was the last thing I did and for years it worked well, but this time it was different.

The nurse insisted on repeating to me that the patient’s pain was “10 out of 10.” I insisted that I understood that the patient was in pain but that it was necessary to “listen to the message not just shoot the messenger” and try to loosen the dressings first then call back if that did not work. Clearly annoyed, the nurse just hung up.