Agnostic.com

16 5

Fake news and Reality

I'm a newbie and thought I'd do my first post! (Probably some vain attempt of community acceptance!) 😉

Do people find that they have become so disheartened and untrusting of even the most tame of news headline, that they even fact check headlines that support their own belief bias?

GilesD 5 Apr 16

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

16 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

There are several good sources of news that are now and always have been 99% reliable. But everyone has become their own publisher with "social media" and share the crap they pick up from others that freakin' made it up. This allows people to filter, invent and promote their own twisted angles with no repercussions. And for those other entities with far more evil intent to cheaply and quickly dominate the social media with intentionally-misleading garbage. It's up to us to fact-check and challenge the lazy fake-news spreaders. Here's a helpful guide. Not perfect, but helpful.

Surprised Fox News was placed so high!
I’m from the UK and the BBC has been in free fall imho.

On a serious note; love the graphic but this is a typical example of “opinion presented as credible fact” because the graphic cites no source on which the positioning of the media outlets is determined!

I like the graphic and agree with it but all I’m doing is applying “conformational bias”.

@GilesD The graphic is a couple years old and since then Fox "News" has plummeted (my opinion) due to partnering with Trump. I've used this for my own use for quickly checking on fringe sources which all take extreme positions and spew garbage.

@LetzGetReal did Elvis just leave the room?