Agnostic.com

10 18

On heightened senses and intensity. Your thoughts?

"So tell me more about your heightened senses. That fascinates me. Has meditation further enhanced your senses?" a man from Missoula, Montana asked on a dating site.

My Reply:

A hard question. I need to think about it. Because I have lived with heightened senses all my life, I take it for granted. Like everything, there are positives and negatives.

Positives

Deeply pleasurable, sensual and ecstatic experiences bring joy and pleasure to my life.
Mini-orgasms. Smelling beautiful, fragrant roses. "OH! Smell THIS one!" I cried, running from rose to rose at the Portland, Oregon Rose Garden. After an hour, I had olfactory overload and smelled nothing.

Other hikers stride past gorgeous vistas and flowers. My attention is snagged by beauty. Can't resist taking a photo. Then jog to catch up with my pack bouncing on my back.

Not to put too fine a point on it, but great sex. As a musician, I have a rhythmic body and hands. Men say I'm the best lover they ever had. The mind is the best sex organ. Enough said.

Soaring music, touching a baby's soft hand, laughter with friends, taste, touch, smell, sight. "We all need more low-level ecstasy in our lives," I wrote in my profile. An understatement.

My adult child Claire shares my intensity, high energy and high tolerance for pain. Last year I drove to Seattle to give Claire birthday presents. During lunch we had a fascinating conversation about coping techniques.

Negatives

"My intensity is too much for some people," Claire said. Ditto.

Coping techniques: we both do yoga, exercise, meditate, breathe deeply and... wait for it... fidget to expel overflowing energy. I'm a foot wiggler. Sleeping with Claire is like sleeping with a tornado. Humor helps.