Agnostic.com

9 2

Hi I am a level 5 counselling student with a mini research project ... I'm looking to find out how agnostic counsellors meet spiritual faith in their clients. If you are a self described agnostic counsellor would you be willing to participate in a 30n- 40 minute interview at our mutual convienience?

GFGF 2 Feb 14

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

9 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Way back in the early 1990's to trained to be an addiction recovery counselor. I burned out in the internship, as I simply do not have the patience for how long the recovery process takes. But, I do have a two year degree in Addiction studies and a BA in Sociology.

Anyway, the subject of how to work with atheists and agnostics, as the twelve steps, which is used in almost every recovery program deals with a "higher power".

We were told that "higher power" does not have to be be god or any kind of supernatural entity. As an example of three higher powers of nonbelievers was a daughter, a kitten and a motorcycle. A higher power for recovery purposes is something that inspires a loving sense of caring.

From what I have read, on a per capita basis those who choose god as a higher power have a lower recovery rate and a higher rate of relapse. The etherial concept of god just isn't as powerful as something in the real world. At least when it comes to recovery.

I myself never has any addiction(s). However, I have a brother who is (a recovered) alcoholic and drug addict and became so despite a claim to believe in the Mormon faith.