Agnostic.com

3 20

Alexandria won $56,509 in scholarships so far. Hooray!

Today I met with Alexandria, the girl I'm mentoring, at the public library to write thank you cards for scholarships. And to help her write an essay:

"How this scholarship helps me achieve my dreams/transforms my life/saves my life/rescues me, or some such horseshit," I quipped. We laughed. "I'm kidding." She wrote a beautiful, touching essay.

Yesterday Alexandria won a local music scholarship for $9,700, paid in two-year installments. Alexandria plays four-instruments: flute, violin, acoustic guitar and electric bass guitar. Since junior year, Alexandria has been first flute and flute section leader in concert band and marching band.

Her mother cannot afford music lessons. Alexandria is self-taught by watching youtube videos and practicing hard with each instrument.

Alexandria has been receiving award letters for 2-1/2 weeks. More to come. The last scholarship she applied for was due May-4. My goal of $60K is within reach.

Alexandria will begin at the University of Washington in September. She wants to become a scientific researcher.

Photo- Alexandria (right) and friend ready for the high school Senior Prom last week. Her prom dress is covered with sequins. They both wore high heels because their dresses were too long. No shoes allowed on the gym floor. So Alexandria could dance, her friend helped her pin up the hem with safety pins.

LiterateHiker 9 May 13

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

3 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Awesome

bobwjr Level 10 May 14, 2022

Outstanding! She sounds like a VERY talented young person and your mentoring has helped her immensely! great job to you both🤩🥰🤩!
Lovely prom gowns!