Agnostic.com

7 12

I have rarely ever commented on social media, but Republicans are burning my ass right now and I feel compelled to say something. I am a military vet of a foreign war, a gun owner and was a Navy Marksman, but these mass killings are off the charts and something needs to be done. There is absolutely no reason a military style weapon needs to be in the hands of a civilian. (And don't give me the BS that an AR style weapon is not a military weapon - it's close enough) Even the First Amendment has restrictions (try yelling fire in a movie theater and see how far your Constitutional right keeps you from consequences). What is the problem with these damn Republicans putting a few common sense restrictions on the Second Amendment? Restrictions can be reasonable and effective without taking away our Second Amendment rights.

Back in 1969, I took a gun safety course from the NRA. It was informative, non=partisan and had value. I would not attend a NRA course today for any reason. There is no common sense, compassion, or intelligence in that organization today, what-so-ever.

WillF 4 June 6

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

7 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Two tours nam.. Advisory work central and southern africa... Seen a bit during those years... The nra then and the mind set of most sane americans is not the nra and mindset of a sad majority of americans today.. What we have is a cult of gun worshipping religious fools..... If the majority of these sofa combat dimwits actually saw, heard, and smelled combat we wouldnt be having this never ending conversation we continue to have..... Until we vote these ignorant obstructionist fucking republicans out of office nothing will change