Agnostic.com

9 10

Apparently I made a post, that was in opposition of a few (maybe many) fellow members here.

Regarding a parent being charged with murder, after his 6 year old retrieved a gun and accidentally killed the 5 year old sibling.

I sometimes forget that the whole world doesn't follow gun violence in America, in the obsessing and clinical way that I do, and have for over a decade.

So to be clear, my post, and my outrage regarding said "murder charge" was exacerbated today, when I thought to research just how these shootings happen and proceed through the Justice System.

I realize it's an emotional issue for some, I get that. It isn't for me. I am strictly interested in the legalities. Why???? Because it's nonsensical. More guns, more guns, more guns, no laws.

So I studied this and here's the realities:

More gun accidental Shootings By Children
[npr.org]children

BUT!!!! Are they deemed "accidental"?????

Felony Charge in unsecured gun
[flaglerlive.com]

Charges vary when a child accidentally injures or kills by a secured or unsecured gun
www.desmoinesregister.com

How unusual is it to charge parents in school shootings? EXTREMELY RARE
[pbs.org]

*-Accidental Shooting: How rare are changes**
[denverpost.com]children/

Mother Charged With Manslaughter in death of Father
[nytimes.com]

Accidental Shooting. Guns and children
[npr.org]children

My only point was, Murder First Degree for One, no charges for others, misdemeanor charges for others.

It's either or it's not. You can not charge a 6 year old AND HIS MOTHER for charges that aren't even laws.

Let's get honest. The 2nd Amendment does NOT claim we can own guns simply for owning guns. (Sorry gun fans and 2nd Amendment junkies. Unless you belong to "A WELL REGULATED MILITIA" there are NO Constitutional gun"rights"... " )

So emotions aside, what do you want? All people. What's going to make everyone less aghast?