Agnostic.com

23 4

Compatibility issues

I'm new to dating as an adult (Divorced 16 months, married over 19 years) but when do you tell potential partners about you beliefs or lack thereof? I've always been direct and up front about it but where I live, atheism is looked down on much more so than in larger cities. Plus, I've never done online dating so the whole experience is new to me. Do you tell potential dates beforehand?

ClarkKent 4 May 14

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

23 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Oh yes! It's in my online profile. And most guys usually ask about it. It's a deal breaker for a lot of people (I live in Arkansas) so I don't want to waste their time.

When I was doing online dating (not on here), sometimes I put Atheists, sometimes other, sometimes left it blank. None of them produced results, so I am not sure it made a difference.

Thanks for all of the advice. When I created my dating profile, I had put that I'm atheist in there but took it out with the idea that maybe people wouldn't be so judgmental once they got to know me. However, I've decided to just put it back in and let the chips fall where they may. Thanks again, I appreciate it.

Leave it in. Easier to weed out those with whom there will be no compatibility ahead of time.

The more fundamental something is that sets one apart, the earlier it should be revealed. Don't waste time.... or hopes.

A relationship between a believer and non-believer is extremely difficult. Especially when it comes to rising kids, from what i have seen. It is not something me and my partners talked about often... but when we did, it was difficult not to intentionally be hurtful. Goodluck