Agnostic.com

14 0

What do you think?

I believe religions provide peace of mind to people who fear "the end" at death. Anyone else feel this way or a variation thereof?

EllenDale 7 Dec 20

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

14 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I’ve been doing hospice for 19 years. I’ve experienced a number of people find religion as they were dying. My Pop was one. I hope to stay true to my beliefs all the way, but I don’t fault those who only want some peace as they die.

@MrLizard It might make a difference in how you feel at the time.

@MrLizard I honestly feel that we won’t care about imping out at the end. I also don’t believe it will matter. I hope that whatever we choose gives us peace.

Yes. I think religion is very important for people who need it. In fact, I came to realize that some people would run amok without religion. It really is what they need to maintain their moral bearing.

If humans need religion to maintain their moral bearing, then I'm for bringing religion back into public schools. If a class period of praying, praising, flogging, meditating, or whatever will bring more peace to our growing children, bring it on!

@EllenDale Let's hope it is only some people...and there are enough outlets outside of public schools to be religious. However, I do think that high school (mine did) should offer classes on religion from a learning perspective, as opposed to a worshiping perspective. Perhaps if some people were more educated about religions that are 'foreign' to them, they wouldn't just parrot what they hear from the news.

of course, it does and it gives the higher religious people power over them.

Ah, power. The bane of our existence.

indeed