31 6

POLL Are you in favor of capital punishment?

Or, do you feel it is ineffective? Please elaborate on your choice, if you feel strongly one way or the other.

View Results Add Comment
By Bikersurfer
Favorite
Please or register to see comments
31 comments

It seems the debate boils down to one of details. Flawed system, costs, legal issues and so on. To me the premise should be one of how it affects the community. There are some horrific crimes committed and many serial killers will never be remorseful. I think capital punishment can send a message and should be applied in extreme cases. To eliminate a method of social punishment, I think, limits our response.

JackPedigo Level 3 Oct 18, 2017

I have a degree and both psychology and criminology. In one of my classes I had to write a paper arguing for or against capital punishment. For this paper I had to read many peer-reviewed articles on this topic. When I started the research for the paper I had intended to write on the side for capital punishment. After reading more articles then I can remember I changed my stance on the subject. One the lessons I learned from my classes is that our criminal justice system is flawed (extremely flawed). Sentencing someone to death is not a simple thing. Even when a person is convicted it will take years for their sentence to be carried out. During that time thousands of dollars are wasted on court fees and appeals processes. In the long run it can cost more to sentence someone to death then it does to house them for the rest of their life.There is a theory applied in some of our laws called deterrence theory. We punish people so that person will be deterred from crime in the future. We also punish people so others will learn from that persons crime. Capital punishment is not effect when in comes to deterrence. Plus there are the moral questions behind capital punishment. Is it really moral to kill someone for killing other people? What about the methods used? Most states were