Agnostic.com
5 11

I'm new. I grew up an introvert, but I'm gradually breaking out of that habit by getting over my fear of speaking to others. It's been a long journey, but I don't think being introverted is bad or anything. I just think there are ways to grow in life. There are ways to overcome social fears. I like to research the things I'm afraid of and figure out if they're worth being afraid of, for example.

TimBruneau 3 June 22
You must be a member of this group before commenting. Join Group

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

5 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I agree with others who say this is not about social anxiety/fear. I'm pretty much a committed introvert, yet I was a social worker for 30 years. I don't have problems interacting with people, I'm actually considered a very good listener (good thing for social workers) but I relish my "alone time". I do NOT like large crowds but I am able to be in one if I need to, without fear or anxiety beyond being anxious to be OUT of the crowd.

I don't have a desire to be an extrovert. I don't have a wish to be dependent on social contacts for my own satisfaction and sense of well being. "Quarantine" has not been distressing to me, not seeing another person all day is not "lonely" for me, not going out in public is rather peaceful. Watching the "liberate" people carry on about how they need to go out to eat, get a haircut, go to the gym, baffles me.