Agnostic.com
0 1

Is science teaching going backwards?

Time does not matter in this story, but I think it was the 1970s. I was a young impressionable chemistry teacher still trying to search out my potential on the promotion ladder. One way of doing this was to keep in with the county sciences advisers, because they often were called to advise or even be present at the interview panel for the higher jobs.

So, I was delighted when he offered me a secondment (even for just one day) to act within one of our county schools with the A.P.U. The Assessment of Performance Unit). This was a government scheme acting within each county to follow the development and success of science teaching within the Nation’s schools.

I was given brief training. My task was a ‘ recording of observation ’ trial following pupils having been given a simple scientific task. I had the space of a small laboratory with no other activities to disturb the trial. School technicians had already placed the equipment available to the pupil randomly on the bench. These were, as you would expect from the exercise in solving the following particular problem. The rubric (only instruction and information) was “This is just a heavy metal object (an obscure piece of laboratory equipment). I want you to assemble the equipment on the bench so that you can give me some idea of the weight this object.”
Then I had to record how they tackled it, and what degree of success they achieved in giving any idea of the weight. Some eighteen pupils tracked back and forth from their normal classes throughout the day.
The equipment included Burets / retort clamps and stands (bases), metal rods, meter rules, set of tradesman weights, goggles, Bunsen, tripod, test tubes in stand, measuring tape, pestle and mortar, Means of attaching or joining things together I.e. a ball of string, some different shaped hooks, Measuring tape Wood blocks of various shapes including knife edge, Etc.