Agnostic.com
5 4

Blind Faith by Ben Elton is a must read if you like disturbing dystopian novels. This one is about a future set in London where public displays of faith are mandatory and everything in your life recorded and shared publicly on social media including sex. Its right up there with 1984 and Brave New World. I feel like we arent too far off from these types of futures happening if the religious nuts get their way.

Dionysus6 5 June 18
Share
You must be a member of this group before commenting. Join Group

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

5 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

0

I'll have to check it out. Thanks 🙂

0

yeah bens a good author and all round nice person

weeman Level 7 July 19, 2018
1

Naaahh.... You can drag my sorry behind to church by force (if things ever get to that) but you cannot make me pray

IamNobody Level 8 June 19, 2018
1

I kind of like dystopian stories - Handmaid's Tale, The Unit, Never Let Me Go, Brave New World and many others. I might read Blind Faith. Sounds like it would make me cringe.

SKH78 Level 8 June 18, 2018

Loved Brave New World and Handmaids Tale. The Handmaids show on Hulu is amazingly on point amd follows the book very well. Havent read the others you mentioned but will definitely look into them

3

That looks like a good read. Ben Elton is a talented man. I was reading recently about Giambattista Vico who believed that history is circular and each cycle has 4 phases - the age of gods, the age of heroes, the age of men and the return to the age of the gods. If he is right, we are well along in the age of man and I think I can feel a change in the air....

brentan Level 8 June 18, 2018
Write Comment

Recent Visitors 17

Photos 26 More

Posted by MynamehereAnyone really into reading apocalyptic fiction right now?

Posted by AmelieMatisseMy latest read. I really though I was well informed about this era. Sadly I was not.

Posted by AmelieMatisseI went to a lecture by author Richard Rothstein. If you are interested in learning how our government segregated this country, you will find this book fascinating

Posted by Marcie1974This made me giggle

Posted by Marcie1974This made me giggle

Posted by snytiger6With the current trend of the far right moving into the forefront of many countries aroudn the world, perhaps it is time for people to rediscover the book "It Can't Happen Here" by Sinclair Lewis.

Posted by AmelieMatisseAnyone who is an art lover will enjoy this book. And if you are anywhere near Baltimore MD a trip to the Baltimore Museum will get you the chance to see the Cone sisters amazing collection for free

Posted by AmelieMatisseJust finished a biography on Frederick Douglass and this seemed like a good followup.

Posted by GuyKeithAnyone here like Joseph Heller? You may be familiar with Catch-22, but have you read his other books, especially Something Happened? If anyone has read it, let me know. I would like to discuss it.

Posted by ninjarider1Well, one can always hope!

Posted by ninjarider1I "check out" when I read!

Posted by ninjarider1Twenty five percent? I'd say more than that!

Posted by snytiger6Instead of powering it up...

Posted by KodiamusCurrently reading

Posted by MoonTigerA REAL Read Head!

Posted by ninjarider1Any science fiction fans here?

  • Top tags#book #books #world #novels #god #friends #religious #movies #death #hope #church #writers #Bible #reason #parents #authors #faith #Present #Jesus #Russian #earth #kids #children #Christian #Atheist #funeral #cats #scientific #sin #community #drama #video #money #religions #sex #relationship #literature #China #DonaldTrump #culture #existence #hell #poetry #rape #USA #freedom #climate #conservatives #liberals #population ...

    Members 129Top

    Moderator