Agnostic.com
0 1

Verna Cobb (continued)
By J. L. Young

Verna’s gaze broke, “A hundred and twenty years. That’s not possible.”
“You think?” The younger woman scoffed sarcastically.
“Let’s pretend that I’m not crazy. Theoretically, time travel is possible, just highly improbable.”
“Yet, here you are in my workshop. I’m just a mechanic, not a theoretical physicist, but if I were, that doesn’t help your argument. Nor does it explain why you’re here.”
“I… I can’t explain it.”
“What’s your name again?”
“Verna Faye Cobb.”
“Stay, Verna Faye Cobb,” the younger woman lowered her weapon and stepped over the workbench. She picked up a small black device. It was like a tv, except small, and in color.
“What’s that?”
“Some amazing future tech. We call it a phone. Don’t worry, it’s encrypted.”
“Fascinating. But your sarcasm isn’t productive.” Verna said.
“Yeah, but it’s fun.” She smiled as she tapped on the glass. Her smile melted as she read the results of a search. After expanding one and reading the article, she looked at the photo. She raised her phone and glanced back and forth at the crazy woman and the photo. Even the dress had the same little flowers printed on the fabric. “No, this can’t be.”
“What did you find on your device?”
“You!” She showed the photo to Verna.
“That was taken at the party at Edna’s house.”
“It says it’s the last picture ever taken of you, before you and this Everett guy went missing. Nice car, mmm… ‘63. Not like the boats from that time period.”
“What else does it say about Everett?”
“The article says a guy claiming to be Everett J. Sloane was picked up by a Franklin County Sheriff’s deputy,” she read more, “in 2022. Your boyfriend was a time traveler too.”
“That was sixty years ago. He’d be in his eighties now.”