Agnostic.com

10 0

Worst experience with religion . . .

What's the worst experience you had at the hands of religious folk? In my case, it was being forced by my mother to attend Catholic Sunday School classes being taught by Christian Brothers. The Brothers were nasty and physically abusive, and it was made worse by the fact that some of the "tough guys" in my class insisted on trying to provoke the Brothers. The outcome was that I was petrified to attend these classes and dreaded Sunday mornings. I eventually put my foot down and refused to attend. Also, when being trained to make my Confirmation, the nuns would lock us in the schools gymnasium until we could recite, by rote, the answers to various catechism questions. I was a public school student, so these training sessions were held after school hours. Many were the times when my inability to regurgitate the answers to the catechism questions had me detained in that gym until it was dark out . . . And I had to walk the mile home alone in the dark, arriving late for dinner and feeling murderous toward the nuns AND my mother.

RobLawrence 7 Aug 9

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

10 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Thankfully I was born and raised with no religion. Sorry for your pain.

I am currently being shunned by my relatives and former friends for leaving their cult. This has been going on for 17 years.

JK666 Level 7 Aug 11, 2018