Agnostic.com

6 4

"I'm a developer. I won't teach my kids to code, and neither should you."

"There are no books that teach you how to solve a problem no one has seen before. This is why I don’t want my kids to learn coding syntax. I want them to learn to solve problems, to dive deep into an issue, to be creative. So how do we teach that?"

"Teach kids the world is full of interesting things to discover. You’re showing them how to be passionate and look for that ephemeral sense of quality in everything they do.

"The best part is that even if they don’t become coders—most shouldn’t and won’t—the same skills can be used in nearly any career, in every hobby, in every life. When we force kids to learn syntax, we reinforce the idea that if something is not a blatantly employable skill, it’s not valuable. Adults can learn syntax. Only kids can learn to embrace curiosity."

[slate.com]

LiterateHiker 9 Dec 6

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

6 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Coding may help people learn to be less slapdash in their approach to things - impatient people who can't be bothered to debug their ideas may take the hint and realise that they aren't the great thinkers they imagine themselves to be.

I am always curious?

I think creativity must be sparked by a desire for a better solution either to a problem or a point of view . Classical logic equations are a must. Creativity must be accompanied by sound Logic.