Agnostic.com

12 4

Anyone here into computer programming, web applications, and data handling?

Dick_Martin 7 Feb 15

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

12 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

This is my biz, Web apps and Data-storage/reporting Primarily using C#/VB.NET, loads of T-Sql and loving the new JS frameworks (Angular/Vue/Node/ExtJs)

I'm a data analyst/database developer. It's been recommended that I get into learning R.

What is R? Ruby on rails?

Not Ruby, what is 'R'?
R is a programming language and free software environment for statistical computing and graphics that is supported by the R Foundation for Statistical Computing (via google/wikipedia) What I've seen of R is from MS viewpoint, lightweight/basic, lang of choice for IOT (Internet of things) smart-appliances/lights/doorbells/etc

My fav is VBA. I am a low level data analyst and all around Excel nerd

VBA? I was looking at that a couple of days ago for a project. Does it have a good GUI? Would you have a screen shot of something you can share? .

VBA - no gui, it's like Powershell, but for (mostly) MS-Office applications (VB for Apps) think vbScript if you knew/saw any Asp classic in the 90's (or yesterday)

I've done a lot of development in VBA. Allows you to get the Office apps to work together. I'm certified in Access and can make it beg for mercy.

@Unicorn1824 ... and you live in Charlotte! I'd love to buy you lunch some weekend and talk VBA. Do you use VBA to run SQL to access databases?

Access queries usually do the job, but I can do SQL too. Know of any jobs?

I am a database programmer who uses and understands most of the SQL languages. I also use a little C# and Python.

I was. I’m retired now. What are you looking for?