Agnostic.com

7 0

Veteran's Day Atheists

HEY, IT'S VETERAN'S DAY!!
I'm a vet - USN .. and an Antago-theist.
I was wondering what is the correlation between military service, war, and religion - are vets who have seen action more likely to be religious?

• 0 votes
  • 8 votes
  • 0 votes
  • 8 votes
enealk 4 Nov 11

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

7 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

The cross section of the military is not much different than what one finds in the general populace. At least, that has been my experience.

Not being a vet, this is one instance where I wish I coudl see the pool results, even without castign a vote.

As an outsider, I would suspect that it goes both ways. Some people become believers after seeign action, and some people lose their faith after seeing action. Still i wish I coudl see the results of this poll, as not beign a vet, I did nto put in a vote.

So far there are 12 votes cast. Zero for believers and an even split of 6 and 6 of non believers. However, what would you expect in this forum?

you can view the results without voting. the tab is next to the vote tab

Unfortunately, the higher part of the military is used as a way of getting soldiers to fight often unjust wars. If one thinks there is a god on their side they are less likely to question their orders/actions.