Agnostic.com

7 1

Active Mormon To Agnostic

Hey All,

I’m new to this form, but excited to be part of this community of fellow “non-believers”.

Having been raised in the LDS church, and very active in it for the majority of my life, I would like to know how other ex Mormons in this community have embraced there agnosticism/atheism, their reasoning for leaving this particular faith/believe system, and what coping mechanisms they have used when dealing with the judgment of still-active LDS friends and family.

... it’s been a tough but ultimately rewarding journey for me, and I would love to hear about some similar journeys from some of you.

That_Blonde_Guy 4 Apr 1

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

7 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I lived in a very Mormon community, owned a business there, so I decided to see what it was all about. In my opinion, Joseph Smith thought he was a modern day Moses, ten comandment tablets, vesus the golden plates... read with two oddly named seer stones, give me a break.

Ok, only Moses or Smith knew of these, and all the fol-de-rol that goes with it. no one else saw god or the angel Maroni. And later finds, translated by Smith, were reviewed and debunked.

OK, I have been a Freemason for many of years I can see where Smith got his rituals, shall we say shamlessly plaigerized?

So what were Smith and Moses about, control of a comminity they saw as immoral and out of control, so we are going to set down rules. Good for Smith on smoking, but coffee and alcohol? I always love it when the Mormons have communion! Or when thay argue wine had almost no alcohol content in the "biblical" times.