Agnostic.com

4 2

The older I get the more intolerant I become of religious imbeciles. Does anybody else feel the same way?

anglophone 9 May 1

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

4 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

More intolerant - or less tolerant?

Viewed in one way, the two phrases are identical in meaning. Viewed another way, the former carries more emotional clout than the latter (imho).

@anglophone Precisely. The former implies intolerance from the very beginning, the latter tolerance at first.
As an editor I had to be concise yet precise with words.

@Petter Now I understand where you are coming from. Yes, I admit to being careful with my choice of words; I have to be when I write my regular column for the local rag.

@anglophone I have an ancient (78 ) friend in Perth who left Kenya in his mid-twenties to take up teaching in Perth. He and I had many an escapade in our rebellious youth!

@Petter But that's what you do in your youth, isn't it? šŸ˜‰

@anglophone Like painting the Russian Embassy red?

@Petter Well, you could have done something worse and painted it green!

Yes. Youthful, I maintained respect for my elders. Having reached that age & stage, Iā€™ve no respect for those continuing to support myths, no matter how convenient, soothing, or widespread. If a person has experienced the layers of life, their responsibility to those who havenā€™t is to be honest. If they canā€™t be honest, theyā€™ve failed.

Varn Level 8 May 1, 2020

I like the way you put it.

Humans come in many forms. As I get older Iā€™ve learned, not just to tolerate, but to celebrate the lives of my fellow humans.