Agnostic.com

8 3

Has social media turned us into attention seekers?

This is a bit of irony I suppose that I am asking this question on a social media site. What I have realized over time is that social media has an addictive quality. When a post is created, people get to read it and of course like or respond to that post. The more likes or responses a post gets has a cumulative positive affect that is in essence the source of the addiction.

Ask yourself this question. How often do you check your social media feeds? Do you create posts of your own? Do you followup and check your posts to see who has liked it and who may have added his/her response to your posts? If your answer to the last two questions is yes and your answer to the first question is a double digit number, then you may very well be addicted to social media.

Trust me is sobering to think this may be you. I've actually realized that I myself have a bad habit of checking my posts. As an author, I suppose that is where I like to see my responses. My fans if you will reading my novels and enjoying the work is also addicting. So for me I already know I am an attention seeker.

Thoughts welcome.

ChrisJones 6 Apr 7

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

8 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I don't think people are any different in wanting attention. I believe between social media and so-called reality television there is more opportunity for getting attention.

Absobloodylutely !!!

I used to be that way. After a while I realized that I'm really bad at social media cause I never got much attention LOL. I find that much of social media is just superficial and fake. I don't really have much of an online presence anymore.

No, doesn't happen to me (be sure to like this comment).