Agnostic.com

2 7

Yesterday, was a sort of milestone – the launching of the last 747. In total 1,574 planes were built and this plane almost changed my life. When I graduated from HS Boeing was hiring. A neighbor gave me a tip on applying for a job. He said when they ask you what you want to do, say mock-up. I did and ended up in the electrical mock-up branch. I was making great money and dropped out of college because of time constraints. The Vietnam War was going full steam ahead but I didn’t think I was vulnerable. I was offered a military deferment if I agreed to move to Everett, Wash. and help with the 747. I refused and that decision made me face a draft notice and I ended up in the military. That scenario turned out to actually be a positive change I could never have imagined. Funny, how life works.
[npr.org]

jackjr 7 Feb 1

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

2 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Here's the video of that last 747 taking off!

[fb.watch]

Thank you. I noticed a couple of other links. This plane is a cargo plane and will be carrying cargo. I wonder if the engines are different than the ones carrying people. While I was at Boeing I found some paperwork hidden behind some shelving about the B-52. This plane is even older then the 747 and is still being used. Of course the engineering was fantastic too bad the muckety-muck [merriam-webster.com] leaders were more concerned about money and stock holder profits than the companies reputation.

Sounds like you made the right decision for you. I lived near the Everett Boeing plant, when I was raising my family. (One of the largest buildings on earth, I think.)

I come from a Boeing family. My dad and uncle both worked at Boeing for most of their adult lives.