Agnostic.com

13 5

Dating in religious areas.

Has anyone had a hard time dating due to your lack of religion? I live in Tennessee and I have had some pretty negative experiences with women thinking I’m great until they find out I don’t believe in god. What irks me more is that often times they don’t even go to church anymore or really practice, it’s just lip service religion. A couple times I’ve had a situation where she didn’t much mind but had more religious friends who campaigned against me and buckled under peer pressure. What are your experiences?

TimothyNovelo 4 May 8

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

13 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I live in Tennessee as well, and there are a lot of great Christian girls I could date if I was a believer. There is one I would love to ask out, but I feel like it would be a mistake as god and church are important to her but are no longer for me and things would not end well if we got into relationship. I have been an atheist now for a few years, it is kind of difficult here in the deep south to date as a non religious person.

I had a relationship for a few months with one girl who was a Christian, but as soon as I told her that I did not believe in going to church every time the door was open like her family did, she was gone. At that time, I was still in the process of deconversion, but I knew that I could not worship the church building like that. Since then, I have avoided dating religious women, and as a result have not dated much in the last year or two. Hopefully I can meet more people who do not believe in the supernatural.

Thepro Level 2 June 10, 2018