Agnostic.com

12 6

What spices do you frequently use? Or do you make your own?

I use Tony's sometimes. The majority of the time I use my own. I have found that I'm not good at making hicory smoked salt so I have to buy it. Then I combine other spices to it to make my own rub. I use bay leaves in the majority of my seafood cooking. Maybe a little gengar.
Onion powder
Garlic powder
Red pepper
Black pepper
Hot paprika
This is just every day seasonings
What do use use.

BucketlistBob 8 May 21

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

12 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Unfortunately, I have to go simple or none. Otherwise, my kids won’t eat it.

TonyW Level 4 May 21, 2018

If you like it yourself, start with easy ones, and just a little bit. A little bit more every time. They'll get used to it eventually. πŸ™‚

I use some of what you have but stay away from spices with added sodium. I like Italian seasonings & Cilantro.

Oh.... I use Italian dressing as a presoak for my deboned chicken thighs...
Mm mmmm. I admit I use hickory salt rub.

Cayenne, cinnamon, red curry powder, black pepper, garlic powder, fresh garlic, oregano, mixed "Italian seasoning", ginger, basil, and nutmeg are the ones I use most often.

Most of what has already been mentioned and I'm adding cumin and cayenne.

Oh! And cinnamon in my seven bean chili. Learned that from Emeril. Yum! I know what's for dinner now! (From the freezer.)

Yummmm...

I love lemon pepper, paprika..... and depends what I'm in the mood to cook. No limits in what I will try to cook next. ? I always look to use fresh as much as possible. It all depends in what I am creating.

Yummmm..

The one I use the most is Pensy's Fox Point.
It's absolutely delicious on baked potatoes.
I'm also a big fan of garlic.