Agnostic.com

6 8

I moved to Thailand when I was 15, I wanted to train muai Thai on a professional level. I lived near a Buddhist temple and became very good friends with the munks who lived there. As I learned more about Buddhism I realized it started to affect my very being, my thoughts and way of life. I studied Buddhism as a way of life ever since and never thought of it as a religion but as a life philosophy, a guide to better myself and become a more compassionate human being. I wanted to share as I consider myself a non believer in any gods and really dislikes religions. But if anything you meet on your journey makes you a better person whatever it might be, go for it. You don't have to pick sides or labels.

Grim 4 Dec 18

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

6 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I'm doing the same thing. I find it very helpful.

The merits of Buddhism are far more numerous than the perceived benefits of many religions.

SamL Level 7 Dec 18, 2017

Well stated! Glad to have you here. I am also drawn to certain aspects of Buddhism (I have a cousin who has decided to become a monk), and meditation does have scientifically verifiable benefits, though I find that different meditation practices are, well, VERY deferent, and meditation seems to have different meanings to different people. I was always taught that it was meant to be (or at least started off as) a complete emptying of the mind (or at least as empty as possible - still unclear on that and what constitutes "thoughts" in this particular instance). Do you have any particular thoughts or comments to add about what meditation means for you and what you may or may not have been taught about it? Very interested in your thoughts on this subject