Agnostic.com
9 12

new vs. old math
[agnostic.com]

Philip21 8 May 21
You must be a member of this group before commenting. Join Group

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

9 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I've never seen the method on top! 😂😂

I recall my son coming home and doing homework math called BODMAS, BIDMAS and PEMDAS or some such crap.
I could not believe it when I was able to prove to him that using this insane system you could have one equation come to two separate answers that technically were both correct.
I showed it to my Uncle who was prior to his passing a quantity surveyor with a Masters degree in Math and he was appalled calling it dangerous and liable to cause serious accidents in construction.

As a maths teacher myself, I wouldn't dream of confusing students with this rubbish. This is typical of people who have no idea of how to teach forcing their insane ideas on the teaching profession.

davers Level 7 May 24, 2020

I don't understand how schools adopted this new math crap. It's the most retarded way of doing math

"Common Core" is the "New Math" of the 21st century.

Ludo Level 7 May 22, 2020

And what a nightmare it is🙄

It's retarded and so are the idiots that came up with it.