Agnostic.com

43 4

Hello, First I need to let folks know that I am a seminary student at a post-modern spiritual/Christian ministry school. We believe that agnostics and atheists have a higher potential to reach the consciousness level that Jesus taught than most Traditional Christians do. One of our text books is "How to Pray Without Talking to God. I'm just here to learn (not proselytize).

Seminarian 7 Dec 23

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

43 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Are we the data points for a research project? Are you going to be quoting people within the body of a thesis? 'Cause that's the only reason I can think of to try to persuade non-believers that you are learning about the god (that is not a god, just an idea, right) that leads to higher consciousness. I'd talk to Buddhists about that kind of concept, myself.

Interpreted correctly (In my view) Jesus was a Buddha type figure. More specifically, he embodied the next level of human conscious development. Many of my fellow Seminarians believe he was merely a literary character, I disagree, but either way, he was an early example of future human potential. This was why he said greater works than these ye shall also do. As far as a research project, I'm not actually planning any research papers, besides Carl Jung, as well as the Transcendentalists pretty much covered everything I could say. I do believe, and have stated in my seminary classes many times, that Atheists and Agnostics possess a higher level of consciousness than most (if not all) Fundy Christians. I think that's obvious though. I have even offered comfort to fellow future New Thought Ministers who are married to Atheists by letting them know how evolved most Atheists I've met on here are.